How To Attract Optimism In Your Daily Life

image

One of my biggest life lessons was learning how to face life with utmost positivity, all thanks to a failed long term relationship with an ex-boyfriend, all the downfalls of life and suddenly being thrown into the unknown world with only one thought in mind to help me get through it: I will be okay. That was around a year ago, and I truly believe that the entire relationship and the misadventures’ purpose was to teach me exactly what I’m about to talk to you about in this post. You see, I owe it all to my optimism for how I continue to survive no matter what kind of curveballs life throws my way. I can’t ever imagine living life without optimism influencing me, my decisions, my reactions to situations, and my overall well-being.

I’ve listed down the top 5 ways on how to attract positivity in your daily life, because if it works for me, then it can work for you too:

1. Smile when you start the day.

This is something relatively new for me, and I actually learned about it from my guy friend Sam, who told me that he started smiling when he would wake up and it would actually start his day on a really good note. It works because your mind is conditioned to think that smiling means happiness, and so it causes a positive effect on your psychological state. And if you feel like needing an extra boost, try smiling in front of the mirror. It’ll feel really silly at first, and sometimes will make you laugh at yourself, but silliness and laughter is just another reminder not to take things too seriously! And hey, “laughter is the best medicine” isn’t the most popular saying for nothing.

2. Be grateful for the little things

It’s the little things that make up the big things. Be grateful you’re alive to greet a new day, for the pillow under your head, the clothes on your back, breakfast waiting for you in the kitchen, because you have people who love you — it’s these little things that make us who we are, and without these little things, we actually wouldn’t be where we are at this very moment. Life could be way worse, you know? But it’s really not. It’s good, life is so damn good.

3. Celebrate achievements

Make a note of all your achievements, recent or from a year or two ago. It doesn’t matter how big or small these achievements are, if it makes you happy that you achieved it, then it’s worth celebrating. It doesn’t have to be a job promotion or finally saving up enough money to buy a car… I’m talking “Woohoo! I cleaned my room today!” or “I was able to cook something that isn’t burnt and actually is edible!” So when you have days where you’re feeling like you’re not doing anything right or things just aren’t going your way, you can look back on your list and say, “Hey! I did this then, and I can do it again!”

4. Send the pessimists around you good thoughts

This was one of the biggest practices that has helped me cope with negative people in my life. When someone is affecting you negatively, in any shape or form, instead of reacting just pause for a moment and try to understand why they are the way they are, and why you’re reacting the way you do. We are all built to feel annoyance or anger towards people who push our buttons but it’s our choice if we will let them control the way we feel or react. So pause, contemplate, and choose your battles. What will I gain from fighting back? What good will come out of this?  Is the negativity worth it? Most often the answer is no, it’s not. That step of self-awareness alone is harnessing positivity, but don’t hog it all to yourself, send good thoughts for the person you’re in conflict with as well, because they definitely need it too.

5. Surround yourself with positive people

Positive people only lift each other up, while negative people weight down everyone else around them. Think of positivity as lightness, while negativity an anchor that will weigh you down and drown you. Pessimism is easily contagious, so when you spot a Negative Nancy, run like he/she carries the black plague!!!!!!! I’m just kidding, just acknowledge the energy, but don’t welcome it into your life. And lastly, remember that when you surround yourself with optimistic people, everything around you will feel light and effortless, leaving more room in your life for happiness to grow and multiply. 

 And so, I leave you with this: It is absolutely human to have negativity come into our lives and sometimes even have ourselves plant seeds of it in the nook and crannies of our emotional well-being — the important thing here is learning to be self-aware and making the active choice to stop it. It is impossible to be 100% optimistic 24/7 of our daily lives and if you were, I’d say you’re insane and you need to go to the loony bin. But joking aside, I think negativity often creeps up at each of us to keep the world a little bit more balanced — and if you can make the active choice to be more optimistic than negative, I promise you a vast difference will take effect in your life.

Leave a Reply

